Board of Directors

Incorporated in 1987, The Center for Health Policy Development (CHPD) Board is responsible for the legal and fiduciary management and oversight of the organization which includes the non-profit National Academy for State Health Policy (NASHP). NASHP is an independent academy of state health policymakers working together to identify emerging issues, develop policy solutions, and improve state health policy and practice. NASHP is led by and for state health policy officials including leaders from both the Executive and Legislative branches of state government. 


Center for Health Policy Development
2014 Board of Directors


Margarita Alegría, PhD 1* 
Center for Multicultural Mental Health Research 
Cambridge Health Alliance Somerville, MA


Vice Chair

Susan Reinhard, RN, PhD 1 
Senior Vice President 
AARP Public Policy Institute 
Washington, DC


Mary Kennedy 1,3* 
Vice President, Medicare Programs 
Association for Community Affiliated Plans 
Saint Paul, MN



John Morrison, JD 1,2* 
Senior Partner 
Morrison, Motl & Sherwood 
Helena, MT


Janette Burke, CPA3 
Partner, Audit Services
McGladrey LLP


José Escarce, MD, PhD
Professor of Medicine
David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA
Los Angeles, CA


Darrell Gaskin, PhD
Associate Professor, Deputy Director
Johns Hopkins University
Baltimore, MD


Sherry Glied, PhD
New York University
New York, NY


Carolyn Magill, MBA3
Senior Vice President
Evolent Health

Angela Monson, MPA 2
Associate Provost for the Office of Community Partnerships & Health Policy 
The University of Oklahoma Health Science Center 
Oklahoma City, OK


Marcia Nielsen, PhD, MPH
Patient Centered Primary Care Collaborative
Washington, DC


Nicolette (Nikki) Highsmith Vernick3
President and Chief Executive Officer
The Horizon Foundation 


Committee Appointments 
1 Executive Committee 
Audit Committee 
3 Finance and Investment Committee 
* denotes Committee Chair

Share This

Follow NASHP