Health Care Access & Financing Committee

This committee is responsible for issues related to providing health insurance coverage as well as financing, organization, and regulation of the health care system.  Areas of expertise include financing, Medicaid, SCHIP, coverage expansions, insurance regulation, cost containment, and purchasing strategies.

K. Joseph Flores, MS (Chair)
Deputy Secretary of HHR
Virginia Office of the Governor
Richmond, VA

Carrie Banahan
Executive Director
Office of Kentucky Health Benefit Exchange
Frankfort, KY

Eileen Cody
Washington State House of Representatives
Seattle, WA

Cynthia Crone, MSNc, APN
Insurance Deputy Commissioner
Arkansas Insurance Department
Little Rock, AR

Richard N. Gottfried, JD
Chair, Committee on Health
New York State Assembly
Albany, NY

Emily F. Hancock, RPH, Pharm. D., MPA
Clinical Pharmacist, Policy and Program Integration
Indiana Family and Social Services Administration
Indianapolis, IN

Scott Leitz. MPA
St. Paul, MN

Rene Mollow, MSN, RN
Deputy Director
California Health Care Benefits and Eligibility
Sacramento, CA

Rebecca Pasternik-Ikard, JD, MS, RN
Deputy State Medicaid Director
Oklahoma Health Care Authority
Oklahoma City, OK

Jeanene Smith, MD, MPH
Chief Medical Officer
Oregon Health Authority
Salem, OR

Lois Steinbeck
Senior Fiscal Analyst
Montana State Legislature
Helena, MT

John Supra, MS
Chief Information Officer
South Carolina Department of Health and Human Services
Columbia, SC

Norman Thurston, Ph.D.
Director of Health Care Statistics
Utah Department of Health
Salt Lake City, UT